2015 Installation Dinner and Annual Meeting

The Dana Point Chamber of Commerce hosted its Annual Meeting and Installation Dinner last Thursday, January 29th,  at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to honor outgoing board members, induct new directors and honor some of Dana Point’s finest.

Outgoing Chair, Lauralyn Loynes, spoke of the many accomplishments of the Chamber in 2014.  The Chamber played a vital role in the creation of the Doheny Village Task Force and supporting business developments like Doheny Village, Lantern District and the Harbor revitalization. The Chamber’s Government Affairs Committee also hosted a City Council Candidate Forum, town hall meetings and, in conjunction with the City, established a “Shop Del Prado” program to bring attention to businesses affected by construction on Del Prado.  The Chamber also expanded its education benefits, hosting numerous free SCORE workshops available to the business community.

As the new 2015 Chair, Enzo Scognamiglio spoke on the Chamber’s four areas of focus: membership, fiscal responsibility, advocacy and promoting destination Dana Point.  The Chamber currently has over 400 members and continues to show continuity.  “Our goal is to become even more engaged with our members and work even harder for you”, said Scognamiglio to an audience of over 200.

The Chamber also honored some notable members of the Dana Point community. A member of the Dana Point Chamber since 1971, Richard Deffenbaugh was awarded the Ambassador of the Year for his numerous hours volunteering and for spearheading the Chamber’s scholarship fund.  Longtime resident, Nancy Jenkins was named 2014’s Citizen of the Year for her deep rooted involvement with the Dana Point community and her role as Outreach Coordinator for the Dana Point 5th Marine Regiment Support Group.  Elaine LaVine, of State Farm Insurance, was awarded Business of the Year for State Farm’s involvement with Dana Hill High School, Relay for Life and the Dana Point Chamber.  Each award is decided by a committee of former awardees.

Click her for photos of the event.  

Thank You To Our 2015 Installation Sponsors

SoCalEdison Logo
   EdwardJones Greenfield