2015 Dana Point City Council Sworn In & New Mayor Selected

Photo: Andrea Swayne | Dana Point Times

Sitting Councilman Carlos N. Olvera was appointed the new Dana Point mayor, following a unanimous vote by the five-member City Council. It was a changing of the guard, as longstanding council members left the dais and three residents new to public office took their place. John Tomlinson, a business owner, took first in the election. He was followed by federal appeals attorney Richard Viczorek and fellow business owner Joe Muller. Tomlinson and Muller both work in property management, while Viczorek is a lieutenant colonel in the Marine Corps Reserve.

Mayor Pro Tem Steven Weinberg has termed out, while Mayor Lisa Bartlett and Councilman Bill Brough have been sworn into their new positions as 5th District County Supervisor and 73rd District State Assemblyman, respectively.

Read More.

The Dana Point Chamber of Commerce would like to thank our three departing council members and wish them luck in their new endeavors. Chamber staff very much looks forward to working with our newly elected City Council members and continuing our wonderful relationship with Mayor Olvera, Councilman Schoeffel and the entire City of Dana Point staff.